Veleposlaništvo RS Washington /Napovednik /

Faces of Eastern Europe: 13 Short Films from 13 Countries in the European Union

Since its establishment 60 years ago, the Oberhausen International Short Film Festival has devoted itself to the latest developments in the world of short film. From the very beginning, the Festival has fostered a strong connection to East European filmmaking. The 1958 Festival motto "Path to the Neighbors" was a programmatic decision that testifies to the interest in East European film ever since the Cold War. The Festival continues to offer a unique "Window to the East," affording all who are interested a glimpse into the cultures of Eastern Europe through the medium of film.

Against this backdrop, the Goethe-Institut Washington, the European Union National Institutes of Culture (EUNIC) Washington, DC, and the European Union Delegation to the United States developed the idea of celebrating the tenth anniversary of the eastward expansion of the European Union by assembling a selection of short films from the 13 newest member states: Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Cyprus, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Romania, the Slovak Republic, and Slovenia.

When: Monday, 24 November 2014, 6:30 pm

Where: Goethe-Institut Washington, GoetheForum


More information: 

+ 1 (202) 289-1200